This Is Not An Apartment

It has been a long time since I have blogged about anything.  Well this won’t even be a post about food!

Some of my faithful followers have asked for some updates on our new house.  Well it is coming together  slowly but surely.  The biggest change will be happening in about 3-4 weeks when Peachy gets a facelift and all new siding in “flagstone”.IMG_1903

Peach doesn’t really scream H+N, plus it is actually asbestos siding, which is a NOT a problem unless is breaks and becoming airborne (much different issues than with what we all know of asbestos insulation that gave everyone cancer in the 70s).  I can’t wait for her to come into this decade and get a bright red door!

Things inside the house are progressing slowly.  We are trying to conserve funds, but we also realize this is not an apartment.  Previously when we lived in apartments we kept everything pretty frugal.  Lots of hand me downs and working with what we had.  Now that we are trying to make our house a home, I am wrapping my head around installing things and using screws instead of command strips.

One of the main things I wanted to tackle was the “master bathroom”.

BEFORE:

IMG_1913

I laugh when people on house hunters walk into bathrooms bigger than my bedroom and feel they are not big enough because they do not have double sinks, a soaking tub AND a stand-up shower.  We are just happy there is a bathroom upstairs and it is not pink and black tile like our apartment bathroom was.

The bathroom was updated at some point – nothing fancy or high end but functional.  The only thing the bathroom did not have was storage (minus a very small medicine cabinet that can hold a toothbrush).  Oh and the seal between the shower door and basin leaked.  Yesterday I tackled storage and the leak.

Lots of tools were involved.

IMG_1914

Don’t forget to measure twice and drill/cut once!IMG_1915

Use drywall screws if you can’t get into a stud.

AFTER:

IMG_1916

I looked through many options at Ikea, World Market, and Target (my three go to places for things these days) and went with a series from Ikea.  The space is really small so I went with the lighter wood color and a higher floating shelf so that you don’t hit your head getting off the john.  The little towel covered storage cube has towels in it and might be dyed to one of the sea colors in the towels or bathmat.  I also hung two towel hooks in the wall so that towels did not need to be hung on the door or over the shower.  Gator helped out with all installation.IMG_1917

 

Looking out from inside the shower you can see our matching TP holder.  I had to remove the builder grade one to place in the storage cube so I picked up the new one for $0.99 at Ikea.  Now I just need some spackle to fill in the SIX hole they felt they needed to drill to install the old one.

I need some more storage items on the shelves for small items most often found in the lien closet that we don’t have like Advil.  Other than that I am just waiting for the caulk to dry and test out the shower.  It will be nice not to have to walk downstairs to shower.  A vast improvement if I do say so myself and all for about $60.

Our house is pretty small so any small space storage tips are totally welcome!

Until next time.

2 Comments on “This Is Not An Apartment”

  1. Rugge says:

    Love this! Keep the updates comin!

  2. Elaine Dietz says:

    It looks great! Isn’t it amazing how small changes can make such a big difference?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.