Tofu Chips?

After 30min on the treadmill and 30min on the ET plus arms and abs, I was about ready to fall over.  On my walk home I tried to figure out what to have for dinner.  I landed on the half block of tofu still in my fridge.  I had been planning on trying it baked and tonight was the night!  When I got home I sliced it up S&Ped it and stuck it in the over at 450 for 40min.  While this baked I showered quickly and put together the rest of dinner.  I wanted to use the rest of my fresh veggies because I would be getting new ones this weekend.  I went with a salad of herb mixed greens, tomato, the rest of my baby sweet peppers, and kalamata olives.  I also threw on some wheat berries – I have come to the conclusion that they taste like a nutty brown rice- and some white kidney beans.  I didn’t feel like this and the tofu was going to fill this huge hunger in my belly so I toasted some Arnold fiber and flax bread and brought PB out from the back of the fridge.  He has been neglected along with pumpkin butter now that I have almond butter.  So many butters!  I washed it all down with a glass of unsweetened iced tea.

IMG_3281IMG_3282

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t really know how to go about eating the tofu so I just picked it up and took a bite.  Delicious peppery crispiness!  As I continued to eat away at the piece, a thought came to my mind…this almost tastes like a S&P chip!  I bet I could make tofu chips if I just cooked them for five min more!  I was so excited with the flavor possibilities I almost ran out to the store to buy another block.  BUT no, I had baking and reading to do.  I also have a chocolate vitamuffin brownie and mango calling my name for a sweet treat yum!

WEEKEND NOTE:  I AM GOING TO SEE MICHEAL POLLAN TOMORROW NIGHT!  HE IS SPEAKING AT THE LIBRARY TOMORROW NIGHT AND I AM SOOOOO EXCITED!  FOR THOSE WHO DON’T KNOW HE WROTE “IN DEFENSE OF FOOD” AND “THE OMNIVORE’S DILEMMA” – CHECK THEM OUT!  THIS IS MY COPY CHECKED OUT OF THE LIBRARY BY NICK FOR ME, WHAT A GUY 🙂

IMG_3283

Leave a Reply

