Up And At ‘Em!

Up early today! (well 8AM, which is early for my typical Sat.)  I had tons of errands to run before Pollan and Nick had flag football out in the county so I made us an early breakie or oatmeal pancakes.  Used a combination of the recipes floating around but mainly stuck to  KERF on this one:

  • 1/3 cup country multigrain oats
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 tsp flax seed

I combined these ingredients over night so they would be ready to go in the AM.  They seemed a little dry so I added a splash of water and they were ready to go!  Here are the finished products:  Nick’s had a mashed banana maple pecan topping and mine had a pumpkin and almond butter blend.  We both had mango on the side.  YUM!!!!

IMG_3284IMG_3285

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also cut up some homemade granola bars that I had made late last night.  Again the recipe came from the insight of many bloggers and went a little something like this:

  • 1.5 cups of oatsIMG_3286
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces
  • 1/2 cup chopped fruit – I used orange scented cranberries and apricots this time
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1.25 cup vanilla almond breeze
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • dash of nutmeg

Cooked them for 35min and ta-da!

And the baking contined after I returned from TJs, safewayand home depot after I made a little lunch.  Blueberry smoothie with low fat vanilla yogi, skim milk, and almond butter.  I also had the remaining 3 pieces of tofu “chips” – still good!  I would have had more to eat, but there was zuchinni bread on the way!

IMG_3288

Zuchinni Bread (From Lighter Portions– with a LilyBean twist):

  • 1 cup whole wheat flourIMG_3289
  • 1/2 cup cooked quino (1/4 cup dry)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • 3/4 cup veggie oil converted into flax equivalent 2 cups
  • 1/4 unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/3 cup vanilla almond breeze
  • 1 cup shredded zuchinni
  • 1/3 cup pecans
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • dash of nutmeg 😉

Looks good out of oven!  I had to try a slice given that this was my first loaf!  Hmmm def not a sweet as I was expecting it to be given all the other breads I have eaten…the recipe did call for chocolate chips, and maybe next time I will through a few in (or maybe some nutella!).  It still tastes good without all the sugars we have come to know from banana and pumpkin breads.  This way I can enjoy it as a healthy snack or slap some nutella or nut butter on it for a savory/sweet one.  All in all I think it came out A-OKAY.  I wanted to try and make date/fig bars but it is getting to close to Pollan time and I need to get ready!!!!! Sooooo excited!IMG_3292

Leave a Reply

