No Joy in The Joy of Cooking

Forgot the camera for lunch time today.  Must have been the morning rush.  Anyway I made a delicious mahi white bean salad.

Mahi White Bean Salad

  • 4oz grilled mahi mahi
  • 1/2 cup white beans
  • 1 tbs dill
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 cucumber sliced
  • EVOO
  • S&P

Along with my bean salad I had a strawberry greek yogurt and 1/2 pear, 1/2 white peach.  You could also use tuna from a can for the salad if you don’t have mahi.  This really super filled me up and I was super full for most of the day.  This was also due to my large breakfast and two snack choices.  Snack 1 = banana flat doughnut Snack 2 = homemade larabar.

IMG_3410

Due to the large amount of food eaten earlier in the day I wanted to make sure I got in an extra large workout at the gym.  Unfortunately when I got there I had forgotten my sneaks! yikes!  I did have my spin shoes, hmmm.  Well I knew the treadmill was out of the question so I went for the Arc Trainer.  I am sure everyone was like who is this girl wearing her spin shoes around the gym?  I didn’t care I didn’t want to take the time to go all the way home…it worked out and I got a 20min jog in with abs.  Spin was great tonight, straight and to the point.  The time flew by!

I was still pretty full from the day so I wanted something light and tasty.  I opted for some peanut tempeh.  I sauteed up some shallots and mushrooms while I cut up 1/2 a three grain piece of tempeh and placed it on a tray with some broccoli in the broiler.  I added some fresh mango to the saute pan and mixed up the sauce: all natural PB, soy sauce, chill powder, chili pepper flakes, grated ginger root, lemon juice and some crushed cashews.  The finished product!

IMG_3409

Tempeh is sort of like tofu with a little nutty taste.  Def needs a flavor added to it, so the peanut sauce was perfect!  It filled me up fast.

Sooooo the reason for the post name:  I was reading the new Health Magazine and saw that the new edition of the Joy of Cooking has 63% more calories per serving then the old addition.  This is attributed to the increase in portion size in the recipes.  Kind of sad to see a staple book in cooking take a dive.

I think I am going to try and make some pumpkin pudding tonight and FINISH In Defense of Food.  Night!

Leave a Reply

