Did Someone Say Bison?

It’s farmers market day!!!

Before heading out I had a little breakfast medley of 2 eggs with extra sharp cheddar and green salsa, one nutrigrain waffle with AB and naner.  I know the banana looks a little brown, but it didn’t taste bad and was pretty firm.

IMG_3550

A farmers market close to me finally opened this weekend.  There is the larger one that I had been to a couple weeks ago but that was massive and a little overwhelming.  This market is only its second year so there were much fewer vendors and people.  I try to by things from different stalls instead of buying from only one purveyor.  Here is the loot.

IMG_3551red oak leaf lettuce, a huge bag of spinach, apples, strawberries, sunflower flax mini loaf, sugar snap peas and bison??

IMG_3555

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3556IMG_3557Bison fact sheet…pretty nice stats!  The man told me that they are grass fed but not grass finished, which I learned about at pollan.  They were naturally raised with no hormones or antibiotics and I wanted to try it.  Plus they were local, much better then the 10lbs value pack of who knows what beef at the grocery store.

I stopped at the Safeway on the way home to pick up some  lemons so I could finally make my lemon muffins!!!

I used a modified version of Chocolate Covered Katie’s Love Muffins but I used 1/2 the sugar due to the addition of lemon curd and egg whites instead of egg substitute.

  • 1 3/4 cup WW flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 ½ tsp egg whites
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 4 tsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup lemon curb
  • 1/4 cup h20

Combine all ingredients minus the curd and water.  Place into greased muffin tin.  I made 12 mini muffins plus 3 large.  Bake for 8min then drizzle water and lemon curd mixture over the muffins. Be sure to pull them up a bit so you can get some lemon in the bottoms.  Place back in the over for another 2min.  Eat warm.  Delicious!!!!!!

IMG_3559IMG_3561

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Off to run more errands……

2 Comments on “Did Someone Say Bison?”

  1. Hey girl! I found your blog because I got an email saying you linked to mine. I’m sooo excited that you used a version of the Love Muffin recipe and liked it! You rock… and the blog is great 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    LIlybeans….lemon muffins…look yummy and could mix well with those lovely strawberries…aren’t farmer’s markets great. I am happy you found one near by…good to support start up enterprises like this. Your artistry and creativity is great…thanks for sharing with me and fellow blog readers! Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

