Doughnut Dilemma

This morning we had a little meet and great with the new people upstairs.  As of today I am officially a part of the Water Quality Finance Administration, and I am not super pleased about it.

Anyway Dunkin Doughnuts were involved and as at many office get togethers there is always the debate of whether or not to partake in the goodies.  I decided to deny a doughnut because to me it really wasn’t worth it.  I peeked in and my eyes started to send messages to my digestive system to prepare for food, and my evolutionary instincts were yelling, “fats, sugars!”  One Dunkin Doughnuts chocolate cake (the one I would have had)

Chocolate Frosted Cake Donut
  Nutrition Facts
  Serving Size 1 Donut
  Servings 1
  Calories 340
  Calories from Fat 170
  % Daily Value, Calories:   2,000
  Total Fat 19g   29%
     Saturated Fat 8g   42%
     Trans Fat 0g    
  Cholesterol 25mg   9%
  Sodium 330mg   14%
  Total Carbohydrates 38g   13%
     Dietary Fiber 1g   4%
     Sugar 19g    
  Protein 3g    
  Vitamin A 0%
  Vitamin C 0%
  Calcium 2%
  Iron 8%
  Calories 2,000 2,500
  Total Fat Less than 65g 80g
  Saturated Fat Less than 20g 25g
  Cholesterol Less than 300mg 300mg
  Sodium Less than 2,400mg 2,400mg
  Total Carbohydrate   300g 375g
     Dietary Fiber   25g 30g
  Calories per gram:
  Fat 9
  Carbohydrate 4
  Protein 4

I have never actually looked this up until now, but now that I see 42% of sat fat for one doughnut!  Seriously!!!  All nutrition numbers aside just look at that ingredient list!  Crazy!  I don’t even want to count them up!

I also encountered another issue that is associated with group meetings and food.  The co-worker that nags/peer pressures you into eating a doughnut.  I got a lot of “you could eat 10 of these!”  And YES anyone could eat 10, but it is more about how that 10 would make me feel.  I don’t work hard to throw it away.  I really do not like the negative pressure that others put on people to eat.  I don’t yell at you for eating do I?

How are you treated at office group eatings?

  Allergy Data
  Contains
  Crustaceans
  Eggs
  Fish
  Milk
  Peanuts
  Soy
  Tree Nuts
  Wheat
  Crustaceans include, crab, crayfish, lobster, and shrimp. Tree Nuts include, Almonds, Brazil nuts, Cashews, Chestnuts, Filberts/Hazelnuts, Macadamia nuts, Pecans, Pine nuts, Pistachios, and Walnuts INGREDIENTS: Donut Dough {Dough Mix [Enriched Flour (Bleached Wheat Flour, Barley Malt, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Sugar, Soybean Oil, Egg Yolks, Nonfat Dry Milk, Leavening (Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Baking Soda, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate), Contains 2% or less of: Soy Flour, Salt, Wheat Starch, Soy Lecithin, Wheat Germ, Konjac Flour, Carrageenan, Dextrose, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Vegetable Color (Annatto, Turmeric), Phospholipase, Sodium Silicoaluminate (anti-caking agent)], Water}, Chocolate Icing [Sugar, Water, Cocoa, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Contains less than 2% of the following: Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Corn Starch, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean and/or Cottonseed Oil, Salt, Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Propionate (Preservatives), Soy Lecithin (Emulsifier), Artificial Flavor, Agar], Shortening (Palm Oil, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil And Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil with TBHQ and Citric Acid added to help protect flavor).
Leave a Reply

