These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

Some foods I have come to enjoy in the movement to eating real food and stepping away from mass production.

Applegate Farms

*Happy Meat company started in 1987. Sponsor for Food INC.

Stoneyfield

* Dairy Company that is thinking outside of the box.  They were also a sponsor of Food INC.

Nature’s Path

* Amazingly delicious organic cereals – On sale at Giant this week!!!

In Other News…I bought a new vegan cookbook (pause for surprise).  I am not a vegan, but have seen some pretty cool stuff come out from it all over blog world.  I am planning on using them as a base and will most likely be un-veganizing most recipes!

Barnesandnoble.com

Barnesandnoble.com

I also made chocolate tofu cupcakes using dark chocolate silken tofu and raspberry jam!  I really wish I had pics of these because they were delicious, AND Nick approved.  Here is the recipe I used, but measurements maybe a bit off because I added some extra tofu and milk to make a better batter texture. Makes 6-8 cupcakes.

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup WW flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • ~3/4 cup chocolate silken tofu
  • 3/4 skim milk
  • 6 tsp raspberry jam

1) sift dry ingredients together. 2) mix wet.  3) add wet to try and mix (do not over mix). 4) (Do this step one at a time) put a small amount of batter in the bottom of the muffin tin, add tsp of jam, cover the jam with more batter.  It is able 1/4, 1/4, 1/4 for the batter, jam, batter. 5) Bake 20min @350.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

