Cake, Cookies and O.A.R.!

Sorry for the delay in posting…this weekend has been super busy with music, baking and a little booze.

The rest of Friday went a little like this…

001Salad with FM lettuce, patty pan, carrots and black beans covered in EVOO, lemon juice and S&P.  Last of the laughing cow with kashi crackers…nice packaging right! Lastly a few strawberries and an Adora disk.

002003After work I had to rush around making a travel pack of goodies for Nick and I because we were heading to O.A.R.!!!!  On the way I had a wrap with avocado, havarrti, hummus, lettuce and hot sauce.

004I also made myself a margarita to-go cup in my blender bottle.

005The gentlemen at the event. Some not so ready for the picture…

007Looks sort of like a polo convention.

008009Awwww

011Great concert with great people!

On the way home we munched on some sun chip and a Larabar Jamfraka.  I was not a fan of this bar and neither was Nick.  Dry and odd tasting.  Oh well, try everything once.

012

Onto SATURDAY

I started the day off with 3 miles of speed work.  It was hard, but I got it done.

Next I moved onto breakfast

013Two pieces of toast with almond butter, flax, strawberry jam and naner.  I also had an iced coffee while I planned my attack on making this cake to the right from Real Simple.

After some sustenance I head to the farmers market.  And thus the began the baking and 80s music dancing session.

I started off making the Maryland nectarine upside down cake from Real Simple.  I made a few changes to this recipe to make it healthier.  I used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and I halved the butter and replaced it with apple sauce.

014015016020022

This was delicious!  Really moist from the yogurt and so summery and light!  While this was cooking, I also made the chocolate mint melties from Eat Drink and Be Vegan.

017018019These were also super dark chocolate and mint yummies!  Two dessert successes in one day!

I brought these to Nick’s sisters house warming party and only a little cake remained when I left.

At the party I had a mix to taco dip, crab dip, spinach and artichoke dip, three different types of salad, 3 deviled eggs, a ton of pita chips and of course a pieces of my cake!  Sorry no pics, new people, might have thought I was a little weird…

2 Comments on “Cake, Cookies and O.A.R.!”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Lilybeans…

    I saw this cake in Real Simple too! It looked outstanding, yours too – a work of art. I like the healthier ideas as well…would love to find time and occassion to try it out myself…making me hungry now thinking of it! Thanks,

  2. […] made an upside down plum cake from Real Simple back in the summer and I had used Oikos Greek yogurt instead of sour cream.  […]


Leave a Reply

