Bee-Bees and Pumpkins

Are you ready for some footballllll?!  Fist quarter and the Ravens have already scored!  Not getting too excited over here, it is going to be a long game.

About an hour after lunch I headed out for a nice run on this lovely 60 degree day!  Unfortunately I had tallied up reason number 16 billion as to why I hate children along my way.  Two children shot their bee-bee gun at a target in their backyard as I ran by the rear of their home.  Unfortunately, their backyard is about 10 feet and then there is the main side walk for the neighborhood!  They can’t claim they didn’t see me it was only 2:30pm and I was in white!  What did they say when I screamed at them for aiming a gun in the direction of a person??? “I’m sorry”? No! They said, “You were in the way”.  I was in the way??????  How about I come down there and tell your parents I am pressing charges for firing a weapon in the direction of a human!  Ugh it made me so angry.  Why do people buy their kids bee-bee guns anyway?  What good do they do!!!

OK sorry had to get that off my chest.

When I got home I finished cleaning, showered and got to work on this little guy.

 011 We have had 3 pumpkins outside on our deck for the fall and it was time for them to have their second use!

Pumpkin Chili

I followed the general direction on the back on the chili spices bag but also added a few more things.

  • 1/2 turkey meat – browned and fat drained
  • 1/2 onion steamed with meat
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can white kidney beans (for some reason we have 3)
  • 1/2 cup green lentils – added to chili and cooked while it simmered
  • 1 cup chicken broth – to cook lentils
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree

After a few hours of simmering and cooking my little friend in the oven it was time to serve!

008 Chili on top of 1/4 piece of roasted pumpkin and topped with plain Oikos, cheese and pumpkin spice chickpeas.

009 I had sides of homemade guacamole and some Food Should Taste Good multigrain chips.

007
One happy dinner could only be complete with my new peppermint ice cream with peppermint stick crunches in it!

010 No fake pink peppermint here…but it is slow churn with chemicals…can’t win them all.

Time to get back to the game!

CAW!

One Comment on “Bee-Bees and Pumpkins”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Lilybeans…the pumpkin chili looks and sounds yummy…may be cooking on my stove this weekend….I did put all the pumpkins outside on the hill…I don’t think I had a sugar one to cook…and the others are too big for me to cut…they look cute…I took a pic, so if I can learn how to put pics from camera to computer you will be able to see. Love, Moma Beans


Leave a Reply

