Do you H1N1?

Happy Tuesday!

Did you get an H1N1 flu shot yet?  Well now they are free and clinics are not busy.  I am sensing an over production of the vaccine.  I think they were about $20 only a month ago, and now they are giving them away to all age groups and risk groups.

I personal have not gotten the shot and I don’t plan on it either.  I am a carrier, I know, but both of my co-workers got the flu shot and both have been sick.

I am a firm believe that avoiding the virus is only 1/2 the battle it also has a lot to do with sleep and diet.

So what was my flu prevention lunch?

003 Salad with spinach, leftover black eyed peas, tomatoes, goat cheese and balsamic vinegar.  I also had some multigrain pita chips and 2 clems (vitamin C baby!)

 004 The peas are looking at you with their black eyes 🙂

My day was pretty hectic…I am just trying to get everything straightened out before the end of the quarter on December 31st…when no one will be in the office and I am off from the 24-5th.

Around 3 I was starving.  I guess my lunch wasn’t quiet big enough, or maybe it was because I skipped my morning snack due to my work load?

In any case I broke into my snack at 3pm.

005

I am just trying to finish off these balance bars at this point.  This one tasted like Twizzlers nibs, which I actually really like, but I knew that it was not a normal taste.

006 Again there was a lot of sugar in this…more than a Quaker Oat chocolate chip bar.

After work I headed to the gym for a de-stressing session.

I did a 30min hill climb, 20min incline walk and a 3 mile negative splits run.  I also got in some core work before heading home…I was starving.

I had Eat Drink and Be Vegan’s Sesame Soba Noodles with lime mushrooms and snap peas.

When I went over the recipe again, I found that I had none of the sesame ingredients that it called for.  Good job putting the shopping list together! Whoops!

I did however remember to get hosin sauce (sweet and spicy sauce) so I used what I had to make a sauce and the other parts of the dinner.

Sauce was simple : Hosin sauce, lime juice, garlic and fresh grated ginger.

Others in the bowl : Soba noodles, snap peas, baked tofu, soy nuts, cilantro.

007 008 009

My version turned out great!!!!  I was so happy!  Nick liked his also, and had shrimp instead of tofu.

Ah!  Biggest Loser Finale is on, I must go!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

