New on the Menu

Monday Done-day!  Cheese!

My breakfast held me over amazingly well today.  I also had a meeting from 9:30-11 so by the time I got back to my desk, I just figured I would wait until lunch.

This lunch included something new!

Pumpkin yogurt!

004

I didn’t zoom in on this because close up it highly resembles baby food, but I mixed plain yogurt, pumpkin, a little agave and pumpkin pie spice.  It was good!  It tasted so much more fresh than any pre-packaged pumpkin yogurt I have had.

Along with my yogurt came a salad of mixed greens, celery, carrots, maters, leftover butternut, 1/4 block temph, balsamic and Sabra sundried tomato hummus.

005 After work today I had an un-pictured apple and seltzer and headed to the running store before the gym.  I inquired about orthotics and they said the only ones they really have are extra cushion because I walk pretty normal.  They didn’t have my size so I asked that they hold them for me.  We will see if they make a difference.  I also saw a study on the news tonight that talked about how running shoes actually make us more prone to injury.  Maybe there is some truth to these vibracore shoes with the many toes.  I just hope my knee sleeves get here soon and they do some work for me!

At the gym I did 30min on the elliptical (the place was packed! Thanks new years resolutionists!) and then did arm, core and a bunch of PT exercises as well and a lot of stretching.  The elliptical actually doesn’t hurt where as walking does?  Go figure.  I have no idea what that is about, but I am guessing it has something to do with the way I land when I take a step.

I had pasta punttanesca on the dinner plan for tonight and it took me all of 15min to make it!

I followed Ellie Krgier’s recipe except I didn’t have any arugula and I added some roasted red peppers.

006 The recipe makes 4 servings so I cut the pasta in half but left the sauce as is.  I used parsley and oregano from the pots!

  007

Along with our pasta I served up a lettuce-less salad. With avocado, tomato, S&P, balsamic and the last green pepper from my plants :(  We had a bit of a fruit fly situation and it was coming from the soil of our pepper plants…no more green peppers or jalapenos until next summer…it seems to far away.  At least jalapenos are only about 7 cents each!

008 I just read the new Real Simple and want to make about 300/400 new recipes they have!  I also stuck the included stickers on Sissy and had some Newman’s Own dark orange chocolate!

009 010

Off to finish Pollan’s book!  I am going to have a recap of my favorite rules, some are hilarious!  When is his next book coming out??!

Night All!

Leave a Reply

