Comfort Food

Good Morning!  It is freezing in my apt!  I guess I need to turn the heat back on in this place.  I was a little peeved about our last electric bill so I turned off the heat.  I like it at 65 personally.

Due to the cold this morning, all I wanted was something warm!

I had a few extra minutes so I decided to try some new oats highly recommended by GDW.

001

These guys pack all the nutrition of a 1/2 cup of oats in a 1/4 cup.  The one downside is that even in the microwave they take the 8min, which is kind of long for my morning routine.

I realllly wanted banana, almond butter and jelly oats this morning and they were as amazing as I planned!002 I tried a new setting on my camera…you dig?

003  005

Underwater vs. Inside – yes these are the setting on my point and shoot.

In my bowl I have the 1/4 cup steel cut oats, 1 tbs flax, 1 tbs chia seeds, 1/2 cup plain Stonyfield, handful TJs fiber cereal, 1 banana, almond butter and jelly swirl.

004

This is like a deconstructed sandwich.  I love.  Something comforting about the flavors.

It’s that time again!  Food Rule of the day brought to you by Michael Pollan!  Rule #9: Avoid food products with the wordoid “lite” or the terms “low-fat” or “nonfat” in their names.  Now I am guilty of buying skim milk and non-fat yogurt, but these are to claiming to have any flavoring.  The problem that Pollan suggests is that we are still getting fat off fat free foods.  He points out that carbs still make you fat and many fat free or lite foods increase their sugar content to make them taste better.  People also use these claims as free passes to eat as much of the product as they want because, hey it is fat free. “ Since the low fat campaign began in the late 1970s, Americans actually have been eating more than 500 additional calories per day, most of them in the form of refined carbs like sugar.

Bottom line, think about what you are eating!

Oprah is having a food special today if you are home to watch!

I’ve got to get a move on!

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

