One Month, No Run

Tonight’s post is going to have a bit of a different start.  You see today marks exactly one month since I last ran a) outside and b) over a mile.  I actually remember the day perfectly, odd.  It was such a nice Sunday morning run, and if I had to pick my last one it would have been a high note to end on.

Since then I have been to the gym 3? times and only been able to run on the treadmill for 8:19 before stepping off holding back tears from the pain in my knee.  About a week and a half later I had been taking it easy and the pain was still there, I consulted my friend Ray who is a physical therapist and he came to the conclusion of patella femoral pain syndrome.

I did a ton of research, followed his exercises, did no cardio (only yoga) and ordered the knee sleeves recommend by HTP.  If you couldn’t tell I like to address problems like this and get the fixed ASAP!  Unfortunately my knee still felt like "someone was stabbing me with a knife in the side of my knee cap" and I went to see an orthopedist.  The x-rays came back negative and he came back with sort of a catch all answer of irritated soft tissue.  Either my IT band was pissed or the soft tissue that covers the bones in my knee were inflamed. 

The worst part about this…I was told I basically was not allowed to move my knee anymore than I had to.  I could swim (I think that is what he said, I was in a daze at this point), but I don’t belong to a gym with a pool nor do I have the funds to join.  I asked about yoga, no.  Foam roller? No.  All of my hard work basically went out the window.  I mean I now know that I can train for things and have a plan, but I have lost all of my stamina that took me months to get, and I can see the difference in body shape and muscle tone.  I’m not going to lie, one of the main things I was worried about was gaining back the 20lbs I had lost or at least a portion of it.  So…the big question, one month after I stopped working out/running, have I gained any weight?  No.  Surprisingly I have not gained any weight, just lost the tone in my legs and abs.  I have tried to cut back on my snacking and calorie intake to match my calorie output, but honestly I think it really has to do with what I am eating.  When I started getting healthy I began with going to the gym, but still eating nasty food.  It was not until I changed my diet that the weight seriously started to come off.  This to me is proof that you cannot just work off your fat, you must also eat less of it!  I still have another 3 weeks to go until I am allowed to test out my knee…I already have a 2 mile run planned (I am just hoping I can do it).  I am hoping to maintain what I have accomplished during that time and check off most of the things on my Month Off To-Do list.  Life is all about challenges and how you deal with them.  I am not giving up on running, and I am looking forward to the 2010 spring season!

Note:  This is how MY body reacted to change, not everyone is the same.  I just wanted to share this information to show that exercise is not the cure all to weight management.  Please do not read too much into my little story.

Thanks for reading my little knee bit, now onto the regular posting!

Lunch was as delicious as dinner last night!

006 I got this pink Tupperware because of the built in spoon…I have since lost the spoon.

007

Stew and beer bread!

008 I didn’t get hungry for an afternoon snack until I got home and was starving!

I had my last scone with a little bit of Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter.

009

Glowing in the last bit of day light.

I stopped by the library to pick up some books I had on hold and had a glass of wine over Curtis Stone…so dreamy, but these recipes are way out of my league!

016015 Awesome wine!  I brought my glass to dinner.010 Mediterranean chicken:

  • chicken tenders
  • lemon
  • kalamata olives
  • feta
  • parsley
  • roasted red peppers
  • thyme
  • capers
  • oregano

Cook chicken in EVOO and lemon juice with dried oregano and thyme.

Mix other ingredients a bowl and heat in microwave for 30 sec.

I also roasted up a fennel bulb and white turnip to go along side – 30min

bake chicken for 15min and then serve onto of fennel and top with olives feta mix.

011 The only thing I would change about it was the amount of salt.  No need to add any!  Feta + Olives + capers = a little too much salt.

Check out how big my parsley is getting!

014 012 013

Turnip and side salad.  Delicious and filling!

For a little dessert I heated up some black berries with chocolate chips on top.

017 Yum, chocolate!

I am going to get back to reading through a couple more cook books I picked up at the library this afternoon.  New recipes are in the works!

It is so weird being done with blogging so early…I would just be getting out of the shower from the gym if I were still running 😦

More than 1/2 way through the week!

Leave a Reply

