New Breakie!

Goooood Morning!  Welcome to Thursday!  It is looking like a Murray, Federer finals at the Aussie open this year…at least that is what is predicted and Murray seems to have the match in the bag this morning.

This morning also brought a new to me breakfast!

Toasted Quinoa!

I sort of followed HTP’s recipe but I used pumpkin butter instead of maple syrup as my sweetener/ glue.

  • 1/3 cup rinsed quinoa
  • 1 tbs pumpkin butter
  • 2 tbs unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tbs flax

mixed and baked at 475 for 12 min – it was starting to burn!

I put my toasty mixture a top a bowl of pumpkin yogurt

  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • couple shakes pumpkin pie spice
  • 2/3 cup plain Stonyfield yogurt

001 Breakfast is not breakfast without almond butter!

002 I ate every last spoonful of this!  So crunchy and good!

003 This really needs to get added into my normal oat bran routine.  It will be interesting to see how well it holds me this morning.  There sure is a lot of protein in there!

I got to catch Michael Pollan on Oprah last night.  I love the way that man speaks!  They also had Alicia Silverstone on talking about vegans and she broke a rule in Pollan’s book when she showed us what was in her grocery cart, but we aren’t there yet 😉

Today’s Food Rule by Michael Pollan is Rule #10 Avoid Food Products claiming to be something they are not.  ie margarine claiming to be “butter”.  Oh wow we are on the rule I above referred too, must be fate!  This is one that has actually made me thing a lot about my meatless meat balls “To make something like nonfat cream cheese that contains neither cream nor cheese requires an extreme degree of processing; such should be labeled imitations and avoided (law does not allow this).  The same rule applies to soy-based mock meats, artificial sweeteners and fake fats and starches”.  Read the back of a tofurky box…there is some really weird stuff in there.  Why not just eat turkey or tofu?

Time to get a move on!

Enjoy your Thursday!

Leave a Reply

