Crunch, Crunch

Happy Freeeeeezing Friday!!!!!!!!

There is a snow storm heading this way and the temps are dropping!  The heat is on and I needed something warmish for breakfast.

001 Toasted Quinoa take 2:  Blueberry Pumpkin Quinoa

  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1 tbs oat bran
  • 1 tbs blueberry jam
  • 1 tbs flax
  • 2 tbs unsweetened coconut

I added the oat bran to see if it helps with the staying power.  I still plopped it on top of pumpkin yogurt with not only plain Stonyfield, pumpkin and spices, I also added some dried blueberries and chia seeds.002 I think I actually liked the pumpkin butter better than the blueberry jam, but it is still tasty!

003 And what a pretty purple hue to have with breakfast!

Time for the Friday Food Rule of the day brought to you by Michael Pollan! Food Rule #11: Avoid Foods You See Advertised on Television.  This one really stuck with me.  Most of the food I can recall seeing on TV is fast food.  We already know those are not so hot for you, but if you turn on a children’s channel there are tons of sugar laden foods advertised ie. pop tarts, lucky charms (not like I didn’t eat some of this as a child).  Think!  I think Florida or California citrus or dairy may be the only produce I have ever seen on TV.

Movin on out!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

