Snow, Again

It’s snowing again!  I am really hoping we either get work canceled but no liberal leave!  Liberal leave means we have to use vacation time and I am not all about that!

Check out the sunrise I saw this morning driving to work (yes I was driving when I took this, but was not looking!)

004 The picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was amazing.

Work came and went and there were a few interruptions for food.005 Leftover spaghetti squash with mater sauce and the last of a box of kashi crackers.

006

I love spaghetti squash!

Around 3:30pm I had a lovely apple and seltzer to finish off the day.007 For dinner I had planned on making a healthier beef stroganoff.  I used to love the super unhealthy hamburger helper version of this when I was younger.  Full of fat and lacking a single veggie. (Just so my mom does not get mad, she never made me this)

Today’s version was from Ellie Krieger’s book So Easy – hint I would like this for my birthday!  Ellie’s beef stroganoff.

The only changes I made were:

  • regular whole wheat pasta instead of egg noodles
  • veggie broth instead of beef

008 It got a little saucy and I think I would use less veggie broth next time, but the flavor was all there!

009 I had mine over a pile of peas instead of pasta and a side of parsnip fries.

010 I really enjoyed this meal and Nick liked it.  He didn’t even know there was yogurt in it!  He HATES yogurt.

Before I began dinner I decided to make a batch of bars.  I had seen Kath make Kelsey’s bars earlier this week, and I used to make her baked oatmeal bars all the time.  I felt it was about time I cooked up another batch!  Only problem, I was running a little low on oats.  What to use?  Quinoa and Steel Cut Oats!

I went off Kesley’s bar recipe but sort of 1/2ed it.

  • 1 cup dry Quinoa
  • 1/2 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/3 cup chopped mixed nuts
  • 1/4 cup ground flax
  • 3/4 cup mixed of chopped dried apricots, cherries and orange cranberries
  • shredded coconut ~ handful
  • cinnamon ~ good  couple shakes
  • 1 egg
  • vanilla ~ 1 tbs
  • 1 cup skim

I baked these for 30min at 375.011

These smelled so good in the oven!  I cut them into 16 squares .

012 I had to try one…two for dessert!

013 These were great!  Crunchy and chewy deliciousness!  They were no sweet, but I think the dried fruit gave it enough of a sweet touch to not add the sugar.  I think I am having a slight love for toasted quinoa lately.

I am sure you could make these with any fruit/almond milk/seeds the possibilities are endless!  If you makes these please let me know what you think!

It is still snowing, and sticking!

Time to get ready for Biggest Loser! Woohoo!!!!

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

