Cornbread to Love

I seriously cannot stop eating corn bread!  I had a piece of dessert!  The best part about this recipe?  It is “healthy” version.

It was so simple to make!

  1. 1 cup unbleached flour
  2. 1 cup polenta – this gave the bread a great crunch
  3. 1/4 cup white sugar
  4. 1 tsp baking soda
  5. 3/4 tsp salt
  6. 1 cup nonfat plain Greek Yogurt
  7. 2 Egglands Best Eggs

Thanks to Foodbuzz TasteMakers program and Egglands Best for making one of the ingredients to this bread free!

002 003 Check out those amazingly yellow yokes!  I have been told that the freshest, least disturbed eggs have very yellow yokes.

004 Directions: preheat oven to 400, mix dry, mix wet, blend (do not over mix), pour batter into greased 8×8 pan and bake for 20-25min until golden brown on top.

013 It was greatly enjoyed with the chili last night and with my lunch and dinner.

I had a nice little piece along with my lunch.

009 I enjoyed my cornbread with the other 6 people in the office and a nice spinach salad with tomatoes, carrots and green chilies.010  011

Seriously though no one was in the office today.  It was so odd not to hear the usual people walking around and talking.  I actually got into work pretty easily because we live in a community and I can get to my job on major highways.

I broke from work around 3:30PM for my zbar snack

012 Honey Graham is definitely my favorite flavor of the three I have tried, which is weird because there is no chocolate.

I came home from work did some core and arm work and then got started on Meatless Monday dinner!

014 Homemade pesto covering roasted rutabaga, spinach, peas, and tomatoes.  I also had a nice piece of cornbread with honeycup mustard.

015 016

This was delicious!  I need to make homemade pesto more often!  Unfortunately my food processor broke tonight…I guess I need to get a real one soon!  VitaMix!  I wish.

Some interesting reading to go along with our Food Rule Series over on Nutrition Data  If you have time check it out!

See ya in the morning!  We are expected to get 12-20in of snow tomorrow into Wednesday, no joke!

Leave a Reply

