More Food Lit.

For once we missed the snow!  We were only supposed to get 5in, but that would be enough for schools to be delayed and cause issues on the road.  We only got a dusting around here and it only stuck to the cars.  Now what do we have to look forward to?  WIND. An Arctic wind.

I only got through about 10 pages of my book last night before my eyes began to shut.  Usually I would keep reading but Food Politics is a heavy read and I have to pay attention to every word.  Basically I already hate the food systems in America.  Pollan uses this book as a reference in many of his articles, so I am hoping she takes the same open mind approach as he does.

Hot banana dough oats were on the menu this morning.  I honestly cannot get over the power of oats/oat bran.

001 Easy bowl:

  • 1/3 cup oat bran
  • 1 banana mashed
  • 1/3 cup h20
  • 1/3 cup rice milk
  • 1/3 cup Kefir
  • 1 tbs flax
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • chia seeds
  • crunchy PB

002

Land Ho!  I see an Island of peanut butter in an ocean of oats!003 Thick and delicious, just the way I like it!

Now it is time for my favorite part of breakfast!  Food Rule of the day brought to you by Michael Pollan!

Rule #27:  Eat Animals that have themselves eaten well.

I could expand on this rule for pages!  Basically think of a cow as a human.  Humans that eat unhealthy, are unhealthy.  These humans are also prone to illness and disease.  Same goes for a cow.  Many cows in CAFOs are slaughtered ever if they are sick and dying.  Another plus to eating organic grass feed meat is that these animals are usually treated with more respect before slaughter and have a smaller footprint on the earth.  Better for you, better for the environment.  I call that a win, win.

For a lot more info on this and many other topic check out Food Inc.  It must be good to be nominated for an Oscar!  Know where you food comes from and who is making your food’s choices!

Alright I am off my soap box.

Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

