Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

Top of the Mornin’ to ya!  Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!  I hope everyone is thinking GREEN today!  We are having a mini party at work so that will be a nice break.  I always welcome something different to my day.

So keeping with the green theme, what do you think I had for breakfast?  Green Oats?  One would think but nope!  Green waffles!

001 I have a new waffle mix that I don’t like as much but I had 1/3 cup mix, 1 egg white, 1 tbs flax, 1 scoop GREEN Amazing Grass Superfood, 1 tsp chia seeds and a splash of water.

002003

I topped my waffles with some banana slices, raisins, unsweetened coconut, almond butter and a wee bit of maple syrup to cut down on the dryness.

I really should make waffles more often.  It takes the same amount of time as oats!

I also have a nice little ditty for the Food Rule of the day brought to you my Michael Pollan today!

Food Rule #40: “Be the kind of person who takes supplements – then skip the supplements.”

Get it?  Basically people who take supplements are generally healthier but it doesn’t have much to do with the supplements they are taking.  They just generally live healthier lives.  It has been proven time and time again that it is much more effective to get supplements from real foods instead of pills.  Obviously if you have deficiency this does not apply, but for the general public – eat your greeeeeeeens!

Time to get my Irish butt out the door!  Pinch people not wearing green today, except maybe your boss 🙂

See you tonight for an Irish slow cooker dinner!

Leave a Reply

