Sanibel Day One

Hello from Sanibel Florida!  I just realized I didn’t get a picture of the beach, but I will surely fix that tomorrow.

Our flight was on time but it was not an easy one.  I am STILL congested and the pressure on my ears was crazy out of control.  I also had two allergy attacks throughout the flight.  If that wasn’t bad enough I also felt like I was going to barf while we were landing due to turbulence.

When we were finally on the ground we got our rental  car and it the road for Sanibel and Gramma Dot’s.

011 This place was recommended, but it left me wanting more.  I started with the Key West larger for a little local flavor.

012 I then ordered the misquette grouper sandwich, which was supposed come with a side of fruit and homemade potato chips.

013 The flavoring of the sandwich was really nice, but I don’t think one strawberry and a small piece of cantaloupe count as a side of fruit.

After lunch Mom and I went for a nice walk along the beach and checked into our condo.

We watched some basketball which snacking on chips, salsa and wine, and my bracket hopes were dashed with Kansas’ loss.014 Ugh I was so close!  Those are our few shells we have collected so far!  After a little nap we set to making dinner.  Due to my illness and chips I wasn’t very hungry.  Thankfully we had planned a light dinner of shrimp and salad.

015

I sautéed some mushrooms and shrimp in out olive oil and vinegar dressing plus half of a lemon (there is no S&P in the condo! (So odd to me).

016 Mom made a simple salad of Romain, carrots and fennel.017 Yummy scrimp!

We have big plans for a farmers market and shelling in the morning.  People are really, serious about shells around here.  I think I am also going to attempt to do a little barefoot running on the beach tomorrow!  The sand is really soft around here.  Just something easy like 20min.  Bikes ARE the only real form of transportation on this island and there are miles of paths.  I am so exited!

Leave a Reply

