Ever See a Green Bean Do This?

Tonight I experimented with a recipe I read about in Heidi Swanson’s book Super Natural Cooking.  This cookbook is really amazing.  It isn’t just recipes but ways to make your whole life more natural.

I made my own version tonight with what I had for her citrus green beans.

IMG_8108

The coolest part of the recipe was using my mandolin to slice little circles of green beans.

  • 1 lb organic green beans
  • 1/2 pint mushrooms
  • zest of one lime
  • zest of one lemon
  • EVOO
  • S&P
  • garlic clove

Slice the green beans into tiny circles with either a mandolin or food processor.  This takes time and try not to cut your finger like I did.  While you are slices start sautéing the mushrooms in the oil, S&P and garlic.  When the mushrooms are almost done add the beans and then 3 min later add the zest.

IMG_8111 I really liked these simple beans and I think they would be great cold at a summer bbq.  The original did not include the mushrooms but I love them so they went in.

Along with the beans I made some harvest grains and organic chicken breasts baked in an almond meal, garlic powder, chili powder and S&P crust.

IMG_8110

I think tonight was the first time we haven’t had salad with dinner.  It was kind of weird, like something was missing.

Salads and summer go hand in hand.

Leave a Reply

