When It Gets Too Hot to Cook

When the temperatures get hot, the last thing I really want to do is spend a lot of time in the kitchen on a Friday afternoon.

Enter the picking picnic.

IMG_8124

I stopped by Wegmans after work and picked up some olives, hummus and a whole wheat baguette.

IMG_8125 I sliced up and toasted the baguette with EVOO S&P and while that was cooking I mixed up a little burschetta topping with tomato, basil, evoo, S&P, garlic and a little balsamic.  I also chopped up some carrots to dip into the hummus so we weren’t going too bread crazy.

IMG_8126

We also had a small cheese plate with goat, gouda, and a mushroom herb cheese from Whole Foods.  Sissy was also invited to the garden picnic.

I love have lots of nibbles of different things and trying new combos on flavors.

The best combo that Nick and I came up with was – goat cheese + burschetta + toasted baguette.IMG_8131 Amazing flavor combo.

We needed a little more veg to go with dinner so I made up a giant salad for us to share from the bowl.

IMG_8129 Garden lettuce, mixed baby greens, patty-pan, cucumber, avocado, golden beets.

IMG_8130 Lots of goodies to go around.  Nick likes to hunt out the avocado.

To wash it all down I double fisted it.IMG_8127 A little white wine and a glass of tangerine lime bubbles.

This was Nick’s 3rd vegetarian meal of the week and when I reminded him of that he said he was ok with that.  I’m glad my boy has come so far!  A year ago I am sure he would have never been drinking spinach in his smoothies or believing that a vegetarian meal could fill him up.  I am thankful for having someone that is willing to try everything at least once and be willing to eat everything I make.

Lastly…

Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads out there!

Leave a Reply

