Purple Stuff

Have you ever seen purple okra?

Well I hadn’t until I went to the farmers market today.

Obviously I was game!

IMG_8136 When I asked the farmer what they tasted like she said she wasn’t sure they were the first purple crop ever and they were just picked last night…give them to me anyway.  I honestly don’t have many veggies I don’t like…radishes?IMG_8137 IMG_8140 It looks the same on the inside.

Guess what happens when you cook it!

IMG_8141 It magically turns green again!

I served my okra stars with onions, tempeh, S&P, EVOO and balsamic.

IMG_8143

Okra is furry.

Have you ever had purple okra?  Did you notice a difference?  I did not, it was just as delicious!

Leave a Reply

