Salmon Take Three

Another salmon story.

IMG_8181 Tonight was another Sockeye Salmon night!  It has been on sale at Whole Foods a lot recently, and because it is only seasonal I want to take advantage of it.  I am trying to eat more fish, but I am scared of Salmon’s oily little friends.

IMG_8183 From the past two times I cooked the Sockeye, I realized it needs to be baked because it is so low in fat ie. moisture.

I baked it in a foil pouch for 30min @350 with S&P, garlic powder, rosemary from my garden and slices of heirloom tomatoes.  Then I quickly seared it to get that crunchy coating in a pan I had already been using to cook some veggies.

It came out great!  It is amazing how much I used to dislike salmon, but I think I was just eating the wrong kind!  I saw Arctic Char in the market and that might be my next step.  It is actually a trout with a similar flavor of a mild salmon.  Get those Omegas!

Along with my salmon I had a quinoa, onion, zucchini, patty pan, S&P and thyme pilaf.

IMG_8184

Nick is not a quinoa fan, but he actually ate this.  I really liked it!

I rounded everything out with a little side salad.

IMG_8185

  • Organic greens from the farmers market
  • sugar snap peas
  • tomatoes
  • organic cucumbers
  • organic peppers
  • EVOO & balsamic
  • S&P

IMG_8182

All together now!

Time to watch Jillian and read a new book on the Flextarian Diet.

I will review!

Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

