Veggie Recipe!

I made a new delicious vegetarian dish all on my own tonight!

I usually take someone else’s recipe and work from that, but this came right out of my own head!

IMG_8190 I will call it a Veggie Bake! – 4 servings, 1 hour cook, 30min prep.

  • 1/2 large eggplant sliced into 1/8 slices (you may need more, you may need less.  It all depends on the size of your dish)
  • 1 zucchini sliced very thin on a mandolin, food processor (I am sure small slices would work too, you just want to make sure you can cover the bottom of your dish twice!)
  • 2 portabello mushroom caps sliced lengthwise
  • 1 can dieced tomatoes
  • 1 large onion chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 1 tbs capers
  • bunch of herbs, whatever you have on hand – I used parsley, oregano, rosemary and thyme from my garden
  • 1 tbs tomato paste
  • S&P
  • 2 slices of fresh mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup shredded parm
  1. Heat a little EVOO in a sauce pan and add onion until clear
  2. Add garlic
  3. Add can of tomatoes and paste
  4. Add capers, S&P to taste and herbs
  5. This is your sauce – let it simmer on med-low until you are ready to assemble

IMG_8187

  1. Spray the bottom of your dish with EVOO spray
  2. Layer eggplant along bottom of the dish like fish scales
  3. Then pour on 1/2 the sauce
  4. next layer the zucchini with the same method to cover the sauce and eggplant
  5. Next layer mushrooms point to point across dish.
  6. Sprinkle 1/4 cup parm over dish
  7. Repeat steps 2-6 with remaining eggplant, zucchini and mushrooms
  8. Lastly break up the mozzarella cheese and spread it over as the final touch.

IMG_8186

  1. Cover in foil and bake at 375 for 45min
  2. Remove foil and cook another 15min or until cheese browns.
  3. Let sit for 10min before cutting

IMG_8191

I KNOW it seems like a lot of steps and ingredients but is basically sauce and layered veggies with cheese.  You could ever use jar sauce if you want!

I served my bake with 2 pieces of multigrain rustic toast from Trader Joe’s spread with a little real butter!

IMG_8192 IMG_8193 Layers.  Yes they do fall apart, but it sure tastes good!

Next time I may drain the tomatoes, but that is about the only change I would make!

3 Comments on “Veggie Recipe!”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    My mouth is watering! Yum, yum! I thought the same thing about the amount of work, so great suggestion to use a good canned sauce for times when time is an issue. See you tomorrow. Love, Moma Beans

  2. Hello, there! Thanks for commenting on my blog – it’s great to meet another Baltimore-based food fanatic! 🙂

    By the way, this recipe looks right up my alley – I’ll definitely be giving it a try! I also almost always work from a recipe, so I’m very impressed that this is your own creation.

    Looking forward to following you! 🙂

  3. Oh man, that looks SO good! Will have to head out to the farmer’s market this Thursday with that bake in mind and see what I can come up with!


Leave a Reply

