Ethiopian Food

Tonight Nick and I decided to try out Dukem, an Ethiopian restaurant in downtown Baltimore.

I thought it would be great to eat with our hands and they had lentils!

I opted for a vegetarian combo platter because I find other cultures are 100% better than Americans at making vegetarian dishes.

IMG_8225 Tomato salad with onions and peppers, greens (like collards except not cooked in pig fat), yellow pea stew, spicy lentils.

Oh man those lentils were amazing!  They were spicy with cinnamon and some sort of tomato base sauce.  I am totally going to try and get this flavor again, but it is going to be hard.  I have to remember that cinnamon and chili power or cayenne.

We ate all of this with traditions spongy bread called injera.  I looked it up and the bread is make of fermented teff flour and they use a sourdough starter.IMG_8226 Teff has a great nutritional profile, but I still are way too much!  I just couldn’t stop eating this unique food!

I’m off to relax on the couch with my full belly.

Mom comes tomorrow for the Orioles game and it is supposed to be 100 degrees at the first pitch.  It is going to be a hot one!

Night!

One Comment on “Ethiopian Food”

  1. lindsay says:

    Aww have fun with your Mom!! Is Nick coming with you on the 7th?? He is more than welcome!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

