Jackfruit

I have just spent the last 24 hours in Richmond with my pledge buddy from college, Miss. Lindsay Bothe!

bothe My hair was so long then (last summer)!

Lindsay is a very successful runner and is trying to get into the world of triathlons.  She is also making the healthy move into real food and I am so proud of her!

Anyway we had a great time and I tried Jackfruit for the first time!

What is Jackfruit? Click here for she quick and dirty.  Basically I got that it is a starchy fibrous fruit.

We met another college friend Margaret at Impanema, in a pretty eclectic part of Richmond.  The owners philosophy is, “I’m not anti-meat, I’m pro-vegetable”.  I love that!  It is kind of the way I look at food.  I will never call myself a true vegetarian because I love a good steak and will want to enjoy one every once in awhile.

Anyway back to the Jackfruit…

IMG_8263

Doesn’t it look like pork!!!  That is exactly what I thought when they brought it out.  These were little Jackfruit tacos with a avocado chipotle sauce, cilantro and radishes.

I also had a great salad with mixed greens (with pea shoots!), beets, fennel, goat cheese and a citrus vinaigrette.IMG_8262 This meal was the perfect portion and so light and fresh!  My tab with a glass of wine was $28.00 with tip!  Amazing.

IMG_8264

Great night with great Friends!

One Comment on “Jackfruit”

  1. Margaret says:

    I had to Wiki Jackfruit after the short show Saturday night. What a bizarre food. I am glad you were able to try something so unique and I am glad we had dinner with Lindsay!


Leave a Reply

