Swimming

So thanks to me being an idiot and running too far, too fast in my vibrams, I have a bit of a food injury.

Thankfully my gym membership is expiring and I got a free month pass for the $$$$ gym in town.  They have a pool!

I have never been a good lap swimmer.  I was always on my summer swim team, but I was the kid that got the “most improved” award.  I just could not get it down.  This being said, I was a little worried to attack the pool today.  I also said I would never ever want to take up swimming again…

I was scared that everyone would be watching me and I really had no idea what I was doing.  I read up on Greens for Good before heading out and just took a breath.

My first 100 was hard!  I wasn’t breathing correctly and I think I was just trying to get over the initial shock.

Once I got going I actually did pretty well.  I stopped about ever 100 to get some water and managed to do a 1200.  I could have gone longer, but it was getting crowded and I didn’t want to push it.

I think the main reason I was able to get things down was that there was no pressure.  I wasn’t trying to win a race or beat anyone in any other lane.  I was there for myself and no one else, and I really enjoyed it!

IMG_0122

2 Comments on “Swimming”

  1. Lindsay says:

    haha great photo!! you will get good soon!!!

  2. moma beans says:

    hey, as I recall you became #1 breastroker on the team and swam up age group sometimes! you had some great friends on the swim team too.


Leave a Reply

