My Bike Prep

Hello, I am here!  It’s been busy around these parts with the holiday weekend and figuring out some life issues.

Today I finally was able to get back on my bike!  I don’t think I had been for a ride since Jen and I took our crazy 40mile ride to Mount Vernon about a month ago!  Lets just say my legs could totally feel the climbs!

So, in honor of getting back in the bike I thought I would go through a few things I do to make sure I have a good safe ride (these do not prevent you from getting stunk in your toe clips however – I did loosen them today!)

First – always remember helmet and eye protection!

IMG_0131

You don’t want a cracked skull and a bug in the eye could lead to this!  You never know when a bee will be flying by.

Second – make sure you have hydration for your ride.

IMG_0132

Cage and H2O bottle, you don’t need the most expensive ones unless you are riding the Tour de France, the lowest end ones work just fine!

Third – Gear bag essentials – make sure you have at least something you could use if you “break down”IMG_0133

I always carry and extra tube, my multi-purpose tool, 1 goo pack for emergency calories, my car key and my cell phone.  I also have a portable pump attacked to my bike for flats.

Fourth and most importantly – breaks and gear shiftersIMG_0134 I always make sure my breaks are working correctly and my gear shifters are set.

IMG_0135

Also make sure you tire can rotate freely without rubbing against your break pads.  My front wheel tends to get stuck when I transport it, so making sure it can move freely before I even get going is really important.  If I didn’t do this I would be working against extra resistance and wear down one of my break pads.

Now you are ready for a great ride!

IMG_0129

Garmy went out with me today and I found out that I had been going 14.73 miles when map my run told me I was going 12.5…good thing to know.  Thanks MB!

One Comment on “My Bike Prep”

  1. Lindsay says:

    love the garmin!! whenever i try to get a pic of mine i get a reflection…help! and great bike advice too!!


Leave a Reply

