Ginger Apples

I hail from the great North, and with fall at our door step I can only think of the memories the season brings.  One of these memories is apple picking with my family.

When apples multiplied at the farmers market this week, and I had to bring something to an office party I had the perfect reason to make something new!

I love apple crisp and apple bread pudding, but I wanted something new!  I quickly browsed some recipes with cooked apples and came up with Ginger Apple Cups with Pecans.

IMG_0182

Ginger Apple Cups with Pecans

Prep Time 10min : Cook Time 10min

  • 6 small to medium crisp variety of apple – ie golden delicious, gala, honey crisp
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon Fresh thyme
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons fresh cracked pepper
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces
  • 24 pieces of Nature’s Pride Healthy Multi-Grain Bread
  • Olive Oil Spray
  1. Pre Heat Oven to 400, grease 24 muffin cups with olive oil.
  2. Core and dice apples very finely (you can even through them in the food processor for a few pulses if you wish)
  3. Using a rolling pin, roll out all of the Nature’s Pride bread to a thin slice and then use a cookie cutter or a large drinking glass to cut out circles larger than the muffin bowl of a muffin tin. IMG_0181

3. Fit the bread rounds down into the greased muffin tins, pinching overlaps together.

4. Bake the bread cups for 10-12 min or until the edges start to brown

5. While the bread is baking, melt the butter in a large sauce pan then add all other ingredients and cook for approximately 5min or until the apples begin to turn tender.  Make sure you do not over cook them to mushy.

6. Pull out the bread cups and allow to cool for five minutes before filling them with the apples.

IMG_0184 7. Top the apple mix with crushed pecans.

8. Take a big bite and enjoy!  Make sure you have a napkin handy for any goodies that fall out.

IMG_0185

I served these at an office party, but you could make them for a fall party or even as a side for thanksgiving as a sub for stuffing.  I loved making these bread cups and got nothing but thumbs up from my coworkers.

I hope you enjoy them as well!

IMG_0186

This recipe is my official entry to become a Nature’s Pride Bread Ambassador at this year’s Foodbuzz Festival! The Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program provided me with a free coupon for the Nature’s Pride bread

3 Comments on “Ginger Apples”

  1. This is SUCH a creative idea! I love it!

  2. Kristy says:

    What? What? What? Those look heavely! 🙂

  3. moma beans says:

    H, these look delicious as well as fun! I love the combo of sweet fruitand cracked pepper…like the delicious peach sauce you gave me recipie for. Thanks


Leave a Reply

