Apple-liciousness

First thing: Mark Summers was just talking about Hostess Ho-Hoes and I really want one now!

OK now that I got that off my chest onward to dinner!

After apple picking on Saturday Nick and I have about 36lbs of apples…that’s a lot of apples!  It is about 1.5 reusable grocery bags full.

I am getting a little sick of just eating them as snacks so tonight I put together one of my favorite combinations – apple and onions.

IMG_0364 I love the sweet and savory flavors of cooked onions and apples and it is so easy to make!

  • Heat Olive Oil in a pan
  • add apple cider vinegar
  • add 1 whole chopped onion
  • add 1 whole chopped or sliced apple
  • add S&P
  • Cook for about 15min until tender

I threw kale on top of mine in the last few minutes to steam and add some green.

IMG_0360

Besides my kale, apple and onion deliciousness I also baked a turnip and make mini sandwiches with a ricotta and herb spread.IMG_0361 Turnip sandwich!

IMG_0367 Ok so I know a lot of people do not like turnips/rutabagas like I do, but they remind me of childhood when we used to make them with a ton of butter and mashed.  The flavor is still there for the memory but the sat fat clogging my arteries is not!

Do you like rutabaga or turnip?  Any inventive ideas for my apples?

Tomorrow is a very special day for Moma Beans! 🙂

2 Comments on “Apple-liciousness”

  1. Aimee says:

    I haven’t really had a turnip, but maybe a turnip sandwich would be a good place to start. 😉 No idea what you could do with your apples, unless you can make applesauce, then you could use it in all sorts of other recipes.

  2. Moma Beans says:

    What a great dinner! This would be an easy one for Annana, but I don’t know if they have apples in Floridae. There is a good recipie for apple, fennel, sliced parm cheese in Real Simple (last month). i made it without the parm. I remember having apple overload in West Hartford too! They last a lot longer than strawberries! love, Moma beans


Leave a Reply

