My First Pumpkin

Tonight was pumpkin night!  I cooked up a baby sugar pumpkin for the first time and went to town.

IMG_0415

I stuffed half the pumpkin with:

  • 1/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • turmeric
  • cayenne
  • peas
  • onion
  • last of the garden tomatoes
  • goat cheese!!!! I almost forgot this!

IMG_0416

I had never used turmeric before and it has a very interesting flavor.  I actually got a bunch of spices to make my own curry instead of the jar sauces that contain not so hot ingredients.  This was really good, but the pumpkin lacked the flavor I was expecting.  I had to make sure there was enough salt and pepper on the squash, but once it was well seasoned it was delicious!

IMG_0413

Plus there were peas!  Who doesn’t love peas?!?!  They are definitely one of my favorite veggies.

I am excited for my own curry dishes, maybe with the other half of pumpkin in a pumpkin curry chili!  That sounds amazing.

3 Comments on “My First Pumpkin”

  1. I find the same problem when I cook with squash; my homemade curried sweet potato and b-nut squash soup was rather bland despite adding a whole butt load of curry powder and spices to it – until I added salt!

    Your dinner looks really yummy though, I think I need to eat more cheese on my food!

  2. Kristy says:

    I was just thinking as I read this – everytime I visit your site your blogger name makes me smile 🙂


Leave a Reply

