Spicy Kale and Potato Stoup

I cannot tell you how amazing my apartment smells right now!  Whole Food got me with a bag of cinnamon pine cones and they smell amazing!

IMG_0453

I know they don’t look like much but it smells like the holidays around here!  I hope my allergic to everything roommate does not mind Smile

IMG_0452

It may look like nothing but there is no smellivison on the computer!

I did all of my baking yesterday so tonight I made something more than my usual grilled cheese for my pre-Nick meal.   It is the easiest to recreate when we get home from the bus stop so I like to make it for him.

IMG_0445

  • 1 tbs EVOO
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 4 small white potatoes
  • 3/4 box white mushrooms sliced
  • 1 box low sodium veggie broth
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1/2 bunch of cilantro
  • dash turmeric, coriander and paprika
  • 1 tsp salt

IMG_0447

Satue the oil and onion until clear.  Add garlic, kale and 1/2 cup broth.  Cook down kale and throw in potatoes, mushrooms, spices and rest of the broth.  Add the cilantro right before serving.  Season more as needed.

IMG_0446

I served and farm egg over the kale for a little protein.

IMG_0448

Yummy yoke in every bite!  Seasonal and delicious!

Time to pick up Nick!

Leave a Reply

