Pescatarian Thanksgiving!

Tonight I got really inspired to cook an actual meal.  I have been seriously slacking in the divided meals lately and I tend to just throw a bunch of stuff in a pot and mix it up.

Well that changed tonight!

IMG_0480

Welcome to a Pescatarian Thanksgiving!Plate

StarStarThe StarsStarStar

  • Wild Alaskan Sockeye Salmon
  • Long Grain Brown Rice
  • Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Yellow Cauliflower
  • Leek and Cranberry Dressing

IMG_0484

First thing get your rice started with 1/2 cup rice and 1 cup water + salt. (I made extra to use at a later date).  Once that is going get to chopping brussels and c-flower.  Place the veggies two baking sheets and cover in preferred oil, S&P(I went with coconut). Throw them in over at 350 and bake for 30-45 depending if you like them to get crispy or not/have patients for.  The rice will take about 45min so you might as well cook them that long as well.  Once the rice was going and the oven was baking, I hit the shower.  I love doing this because I feel like I am killing two birds with one stone.

IMG_0482

Once out of the water I started in on the leek and cranberry dressing.  In a pot bring together 1/2 cup apple juice, 1 cup fresh cranberries, 1 tbs mustard, 4 sprigs of thyme, 1/2 of one leek, S&P, 1 tsp apple cider vinegar.  Let this simmer for about 15min until it thickens.  It will be a bit tart and spicy so if you are looking for a sweet cranberry dressing add about a tablespoon of sugar.IMG_0483

After you get the cranberries going cook your salmon your favorite way.  I do not have a grill so I did mine on the stove stop with coconut oil and S&P.

The salmon should be done in about 10min and everything else so be done as well!IMG_0481

Deliciousness and a real meal!

IMG_0489

Cheese! Told you I just got out of the shower!

What kind of Thanksgiving are you having?  Fish? Turkey? Veg?

I saw Turkeys on their way to slaughter on the news this morning and it was really depressing…

2 Comments on “Pescatarian Thanksgiving!”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Congrats to you for treating yourself by making such a healthy and tasty dinner. I have not gotten to November in Animal, Vegetable,Miracle, but they raise turkeys for food…the humane way. Seems like a win win to pay more for local and humane and eat less – kill two birds with one stone! No pun intended but pretty clever for 7 a.m. love you, mb

  2. We’re having none of the above for Thanksgiving this year! Actually, I have no idea what we’re having because we’ll be at Disney!


Leave a Reply

