Things Times Two

Tonight I was able to make two new things in my kitchen!

Well one was new and the other was just a different version of an old favorite.

I can never be without almond butter, but I have been delaying making it for the past few days.  Tonight I changed that in a big way!

IMG_0523

Winter Almond Butter

  • 2 cup raw almonds toasted and flipped over ~12min @350
  • 2 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tbsp ginger
  • 1/2 tbsp cloves
  • 1/2 tbsp molasses
  • 1 tsp grapeseed oil – I used this because the powders dry out the mix

Blend all in a food processor  until smooth – about 5min.

IMG_0524

Delicious winter warm winter flavors in my mouth!

While this was whirling I put the finished touches on maybe on of my last salmon dishes?  This is all based on Rugge letter me know if Wild Alaskan Salmon is ok…I just watched Sarah Palin catch a ton of it, but I don’t know if that is a good thing.  She is funny – In a making fun of her way.  She is so simple and I actually like that about her, but she should not be in politics.

Enough about Sarah and back to the fish!

IMG_0519

I really wanted pasta tonight, but I knew I needed to pump it up with veggies

Enter Salmon Pasta On A Bed of Spinach

  • 1 large handful of uncooked spinach placed on plate
  • 1 serving of wild salmon cooked in the oven for 20min and broken apart
  • 1 serving whole wheat pasta
  • 1/2 pint of chopped mushrooms sautéed in coconut oil
  • 1/2 onion chopped and sautéed with mushrooms
  • one shake of red pepper flakes
  • handful of chopped basil – from my herb pots
  • handful of chopped parsley – from y herb pots
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix together all ingredients in a bowl and top spinach with mix!  Simple ingredients coming together for a good meal.

IMG_0521

So Rugs, what about the salmon?  I know I will not be making this with Tuna any time soon!  Please watch The End of the Line if you eat seafood and want to eat it in the future.

Time to get ready for Top Chef.  I would really like to see a vegetarian challenge this season!

2 Comments on “Things Times Two”

  1. Lindsay says:

    OMG i didnt know you make your own almond butter! You should apply to be on Top Chef or one of those shows…maybe if they made one for natural cooks.

  2. Moma Beans says:

    Lilybeans thanks for sharing your almond butter with me. It was delicious. love you!


Leave a Reply

