Shrooms and Corn

I swam 2000 yards in less than an hour and only stopped every 500 for water!  That may be really slow for some, but given that I was sharing a lane and I not in the best shape I think it is pretty good to swim over a mile in that time.  It went a little like this:

  • 100 warm up kickboard
  • 400 free
  • 200 pulls
  • 200 breast
  • 100 free
  • 100 kickboard
  • 400 free
  • 200 pulls
  • 300 alternating breast and free every 50

When I got home I was starving, but I had a plan to make a dish based on one I had seen in this month’s Cooking Light.

Creamy Polenta with Fancy Mushrooms

IMG_0543

adapted from Cooking Light

  • 1 pint fancy mushrooms – I had a mix of oyster shitake and baby bella
  • 1/2 leek
  • 1 clove garlic
  • oregano
  • thyme
  • 2 servings of polenta (1/2 cup uncooked)
  • 1.5 milk
  • 1 cup veggie broth
  • 1 once tellegio or fontina cheese
  • parm shavings
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • S&P

IMG_0544

Sautee mushrooms in olive oil.  Add leeks, herbs, lemon and garlic – let cook on low.  Boil milk and broth.  Add polenta to liquid mix and stir until it becomes thick.  Add tellegio cheese and blend until melted.  Mix mushrooms and spinach into polenta.  Pour mix into two bowls and grate fresh parm over top.

 

IMG_0545

Finish off with 2 or 3 gingerbread cookies for good measure.

Nick is coming home a day early and I am so excited to have him here an extra night considering I am going to NJ to visit RUGGE this weekend!!!!!

Time to straighten up!

2 Comments on “Shrooms and Corn”

  1. Lindsay says:

    What is polenta?! That looks SO good! Did you make the g’bread cookies? Have fun with RUGGE!!!!

    • Heather says:

      Polenta is like thick grits without all of the added butter. You make it with veggie broth. Bobs Red Mill makes a good variety. I do not suggest buying the pre-made stuff in a tube, gross. Yes, I made the cookies and I almost broke my stand mixer!


Leave a Reply

