Pile It Up

Tonight was a good night for making food.

IMG_0661

I am running a little bit low on produce so tonight I had to pull all of my resources together before heading to Mecca aka Whole Foods tomorrow after work.

I gathered the following and sat down to think of a dinner that would be good as lunch leftovers:

  • 1/3 bunch of kale
  • 3 small baby yellow potatoes
  • 1/2 pint of mushrooms
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 3 slices of seitan deli slices (very odd food but I needed a protein) – Use your favorite!
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • pepper
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • fresh parsley from the pots
  • feta

I decided on a layered plate of flavors.

IMG_0662

First I cooked the potatoes in the microwave on high for 6 min (yes I know this is a big no-no but I was hungry).  While these were going I started sautéing the 1/2 chopped onion in some olive oil then added the mushrooms and kale – covered.  Once the kale wilted I added the mustard, lemon juice and pepper.  At this time the potatoes were done and I chopped the two smallest ones and placed them on a plate.  I placed the sliced “meat” on the potatoes and then I topped the taters with the kale mix, a huge sprinkle of parsley and feta cheese!

IMG_0665

The perfect bite!

I love when my bottom of the produce drawer meals come out well…sometimes they are pretty boring but sometimes I actually can put together something delicious!

Time to go read more of Eating Animals and drink some tea!   I will probably do a review of the book once I am done, but so far it is everything I thought it wouldn’t be and it is beautifully.IMG_0667

Sissy says good night and don’t forget to wear purple tomorrow!  Go Ravens! W.I.N.

One Comment on “Pile It Up”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Great creativity! Sissy did u wear purple today> be good dad is coming home!


Leave a Reply

