Salmon Melt

Before I get into this lovely dinner I wanted to mention one idea I am reading about in Eating Animals (I am planning on doing a full review, but this book is really deep).  I am in the section of the book where there are letters from PETA, organic farmers and factory farmers.  The factory farmer’s letter is what got me the most.

He explains that when he grew up his family’s turkey farm was the small typical turkey farm and the only reason they changed was because America demanded it.  We demanded the cheap meat and we continue to push farmers to reduce cost even more.  We created factory farms and we can take them away.  It is our choice!  Vote with your fork!

Off my soap box now.

Dinner:

IMG_0675

Salmon Melt with roasted parsnips and brussels.

Melted:

  • 1 can of Sockeye Wild Salmon – Ruggs I know, I had it before our fish talk!
  • 1 tbsp brown mustard
  • 1 tbsp plain yogurt
  • two shakes of garlic powder
  • 2 stalks of celery finely chopped
  • 1 sprig of oregano chopped
  • small bunch of parsley
  • S&P to taste
  • 2 slices of your favorite cheese – I went with REAL cheddar

IMG_0678

Yep, that’s cheesy.

IMG_0676

IMG_0677

One last thought on EA; if you don’t respect the life of the animal you are eating, you shouldn’t be eating the animal at all.  Those Native Americans were onto something Winking smile

One Comment on “Salmon Melt”

  1. jrugge says:

    Ha I saw “can of salmon” and my heart skipped a beat but that looks delish! I have a can of tuna in my cupboard that I can’t bring myself to eat, even though tuna sandwiches have always been one of my favorite pick-me-ups when I’m feeling homesick.
    Looking forward to reading that book!


Leave a Reply

