Breaded

After Allie had so much success with bread and wrote a great post about yeast, I knew I had to try my hand at it.  I mean what else am I going to do with the five hours between arriving home and going to bed when I can’t workout?

I used the same recipe that Allie used because it had minimal oil, did not require bakers milk (what is that?) and used honey and molasses to sweeten.  the only change I made was o switch out the walnuts for pumpkin seeds.

IMG_0680

I had some issues with my first rise but when I placed in on the stove top while my dinner cooked in the oven it got to it!  I also do not like that it take 5 hours to make bread and I should have it rise a bit more, but I had to go to bed!

IMG_0681

I like the doughiness of it and the fact that is organic whole wheat without any soy lectin.  The seeds weren’t as crunchy as I had hopped but I knew they were there.  The crust is crunchy, but not break your teeth of crunch.

IMG_0682

I will probably make more this weekend when I have more time for it to rise without risking loosing my precious sleep.

I enjoyed two pieces of my bread toasted with a little almond butter, raspberry jam and banana for breakfast with a side of plain yogurt.  It wept me more full than my usual bowl of oats.  There is much to be said about whole wheat and its amazingness.

IMG_0683

I can’t wait to make Nick and sandwich with it this weekend!

One Comment on “Breaded”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Congratulations on your first bread. You did sooo much better than I first time Mine did not rise and was so tough I rolled it into balls and tossed them around the kitchen. Not violently. Making bread can become addictive, but you do need time and patience. Worth it! love m b


Leave a Reply

