From the Freezer

I seem to have a few new readers to I wanted to say welcome, and if you have any questions about real food, local and sustainable eating or healthy fitness just let me know!

In our house I always try and keep some semi-healthy frozen food for Nick to eat when he has an “I’m starving” moment and I really don’t want to make anything.

One if these items is vegetable gyoza or pot sticker.  Well there have been four lonely dumplings sitting in my freezer for some time now and I thought I needed to find a way to get rid of them.  Enter Real Simple’s dumpling soup.

IMG_0689

(This pic is from my recipe book, but I am sure you can find it online if you google it)

I love recipes that I can alter and make in one pot so I tore this out the moment I saw it.  In my soup I had for 2 servings:

IMG_0690

  • 2 stalks celery chopped
  • 1/2 box mushrooms chopped
  • 3/4 box low sodium veggie broth
  • 2 carrots chopped
  • 1 cup  frozen peeled edamame
  • 4 gyoza
  • ginger
  • soy sauce
  • hot chili sauce
  • cilantro

I varied my recipe based on what I had ie. I had white mushrooms and not shitake so I used those.  I had a piece of my bread on the side for broth dunking.

IMG_0692

I love that this recipe has everything in it and took me all of 15min to make.  I usually try to stick to fresh produce, but it is always nice to have something easy in the freezer to grab and go when you don’t want to hit the drive through.

Nick and I are off to Springfield Farm this morning to say hi to some chickens and buy some of their friends if we like what we see.  It is freezing here so I hope the animals are all inside the barns snuggled up to each other.

One Comment on “From the Freezer”

  1. Lindsay says:

    That sounds/looks great! And YAY new readers!


Leave a Reply

