Springfield Farm

Do you know where your food comes from?  Specifically your meat if you chew on animals?

Well after reading Eating Animals and confirming with many other resources I have decided that if I am going to eat any meat I want to to see the animals, confirm their living situation and know about where and how they are processed.  (I do not expect everyone to be able to do this in their lives.  We are lucky to have farms near to us in Maryland that allow us this luxury)

I know this seems like a tall order, but it was only 40 years ago that we didn’t have to worry about this issue because we didn’t have CAFO (centralized animal feed operations) where animals and workers are treated poorly and dangerous health concerns are created.

Nick and I traveled about 20min north to Springfield Farm.

IMG_0702

We pulled up to a small house and saw goats running free and chickens hanging around their coop.  The owner was shooting off his back deck and Lucky the duck was there to greet us.IMG_0701

I didn’t ask why her name was Lucky, but I am guessing it is because she will never have to give her life for a duck breast.  Maybe she is a layer?  Either way she was the most interesting duck I had ever seen with her green beak and cow colored feathers.

Inside the small shop, that is really one of the garage ports of the home, there are a bunch of freezers and refrigeration cases filled with meats, cheeses and milks.  There is also a huge table in the middle full of eggs of all sizes and colors. I used to think that frozen meat was less superior, but now I understand that that “freshness” idea was placed in my head by marketing and a frozen steak tastes pretty darn good when it is thawed out correctly.

IMG_0700

So what did Nick and I go home with?

IMG_0703

Smoked bacon, flank steak and a dozen large farm eggs. ($15 if you want to put a price on your health)

IMG_0704

I noticed that the meats were processed and packed at another location so when we got home I looked up Wagner Meats and found that they are a family owned and run Maryland processor.  I liked knowing that the farm stuck with a small processor in Maryland because why raise an animal with care only to send it off to a mass slaughter?

So what did we make?

We threw the steak in the freezer for a special dinner and cooked up a special brunch this morning.

IMG_0705

Local happy bacon, farm fresh local eggies and homemade cinnamon raisin bread.

Could you think of anything better?

One Comment on “Springfield Farm”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Thanks for sharing your visit to the farm. I have a CT farm map and want to go exploring. I got it a few years ago, and it would be interesting to get a new one and see what changes there are. I also love my COW milk from CT farms< with a pic of all the farmers on it. Ilona and I are going to explore sometime, probablywhen the weather is warmer! You were brave to venture out yesterday. By the way, I was still able to get VT apples at TJ….used to be NY ones, but VT will do for now. we also still have MA butternut squash. I am doing my best. Love, Moma Beans


Leave a Reply

