Meatless Monday Curry

Do you like curry?  I LOVE curry!  I however do not like that the first ingredient in most curries is some form of oil.  I set out to make a delicious curry with less oil and tons of flavor.

IMG_0740

I have had the curry powder in the left for a really long time.  In fact I think my mom gave it to me from her spice rack when I moved to Boston.  It may be old, but I love its can and the crazy label.  I added a little extra flavor with the other spices just to pump it up, but I don’t have all of the curry spices so I just went with it.IMG_0737

MUNG BEAN CURRY – serves 2 maybe 3

  • 2 TBSP curry powder – I used a lot and these spices are really to taste for me
  • 1/4 tsp tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 clove garlic – pressed
  • 1 acorn squash roasted, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 cup water or chicken broth
  • 3 kale leaves torn into chip size pieces
  • 1/2 cup dry mung beans cooked as directed
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil

IMG_0739

  1. Roast squash for 20min @400 coated in 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  2. coat bottom of large pot with other tbsp of coconut oil
  3. chop onion and cook until clear in the oil ~ 5min
  4. add garlic, spices and water
  5. Add kale and steam ~5min
  6. Add beans and stir together – add more water if needed to coat the spices over the beans and kale
  7. Lastly add the chopped squash and gently stir into the curry bean mix – try to keep the cubes whole
  8. Let the whole mix simmer for about 5min to get the flavors throughout adding more water if needed.

I cooked some split grain pasta to go under my curry because it is what I thought would taste the best with the nutty flavor but you could use rice, couscous, millet or really any other grain.IMG_0738

This made a lot of dishes but it did not take much time to make because once mung beans are soaked they do not take very long to get soft.

IMG_0742

This was D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!  I can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow after the flavors have melded in!IMG_0743

We are supposed to get an ice storm tonight into tomorrow so Sissy and I might be staying put tomorrow.  All the more time to enjoy some curry!

4 Comments on “Meatless Monday Curry”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Mouthwatering!

  2. Mmm! That sounds delicious 🙂 I haven’t actually tried my hand at curry… I’m inspired to give it a shot!

  3. this curry looks so FAB!! and perfect for me 😀


Leave a Reply

