I Need To Have A Special Page For Lentil Recipes

This afternoon I had to get 4 new tires…I knew I was due for new ones pretty soon, but after my Valentine’s blow out and actually seeing the tread indicators up close, it was time.  I am spoiled and thank you mommy for my early birthday present of 4 new tires Smile

At least I knew I wouldn’t be spending any additional money on dinner.  I don’t understand how people buy meals all the time throughout the week.  Get organized and get meal planning people!  $5 on lunch and $10 on dinner is more than I spend all week for 3 meals a day.

Tonight I started with lentils (love their little pellets of protein) and got to this!

IMG_0777

Lentil Veggie Deliciousness! – 2 large dinner or 1 dinner two lunch

  • 1/2 cup uncooked lentils
  • 1 can no salt added fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1/2 onion deiced
  • 1 broccoli stalk – trees and steam!  Slice the stem thing in this and you won’t waste what you paid for and you will get the nutrients!
  • 1 clove garlic
  • S&P to taste
  • 3 sprigs fresh oregano – or a couple shakes dried
  • 1 small bunch fresh parsley – or 1 TBSP dried
  • 8 count basil leaves
  • sprinkle of feta
  • carbs of choice – I chose my latest brown bread and I think I will use WW pasta for the other two portions and make it a pasta sauceIMG_0779
  1. Cook 1/2 cup lentils in 1 cup water with dash of salt
  2. Sautee onion in EVOO until clear
  3. Add chopped and sliced broccoli until it turns slightly darker green
  4. add crushed garlic and can of tomatoes
  5. Add S&P and oregano
  6. Simmer for about 10min or until broccoli has reached desired tenderness
  7. Add lentils and remaining herbs
  8. Serve a main or as sauce on pasta and sprinkle on fetaIMG_0780IMG_0778

IMG_0781

Chow down and enjoy!  I know this looks like a huge pile but there are lots of veggies thrown in there.  I eat for volume and many bites so this is perfect!

2 Comments on “I Need To Have A Special Page For Lentil Recipes”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    LB hey, that is for Lily Beans and Love Bug. I am happy that you are safe driving! Lentils are super supper! Thanks for more inspiration! Love, Moma Beans

  2. Lindsay says:

    Yum I am seriously trying this ASAP. Love the tire gift. That was my Xmas last year from the ‘rents! 🙂


Leave a Reply

