Try Some Cabbage?

So I have never really been into cabbage.  Well actually I don’t really eat it very much.  It is just not a vegetable that jumps out at me in the produce aisle saying “eat me!”  This past weekend I picked one up to try some bear braised cabbage I saw on KERF.  I didn’t feel like looking up the recipe so I just winged it with some Sam Adams.

IMG_0798

Cabbage may not photograph well, but it surely tasted good!  It was slightly spicy raw and picks up flavor well.

In the braising pot:

  • 1 small head of cabbage
  • bbq sauce
  • garlic powder
  • splash of Sam Adams
  • S&P

Along with my cabbage I had some sautéed mushrooms, a fried egg, stewed tomatoes and a slice of homemade whole wheat bread, which I found is 100x better with honey than molasses.

IMG_0799

IMG_0800

Random assortments for dinner seems to be the norm these days!IMG_0797

Nick and I are going to visit some wedding venues this weekend in PA.  They seem to have more barns available than Maryland does.  If you know of a nice rustic barn for rent in MD, please let me know!

2 Comments on “Try Some Cabbage?”

  1. I don’t know of any in MD, but I am aware of one in PA! I forget the name – I will check and get back to you!

  2. Here’s the one I was talking about. It’s in Lancaster:

    http://www.countrybarnmarket.com/


Leave a Reply

