Rings

As we enter into the 4 month countdown to our wedding I am starting to think about what is really important to Nick and me.  I read A LOT of wedding blogs and recaps and it seems that the number one thing that I find touching and seriously something get teary eyed about is the simplicity and intimacy of small weddings.  Nick and I are simple people.  Some day we want a small single family house with a vegetable garden and chickens so feathers and glitter are not our style.  Some people can pull it off, but to truly express ourselves in our wedding it needs to be simple.  Beauty in simplicity.

I want to start writing a few posts about simple touches that are being planned for our wedding and I wanted to start with our rings.  I am not sure if I am supposed to show the wedding bands before the wedding, but who writes these rules anyway?  I have also not shown a picture of my ring on the blog yet because I have seen so many people (not all) show off their ring by shoving it in my face and I did not want to be like that.  I am giving you a glimpse now because I truly love it and know that Nick spent months saving to get the prefect ring.  I just wanted one solitaire diamond with a narrow band and a sunken carriage but not so sunken that I would need a special wedding band (did you get that?).  I am also against “trading in” your ring for an upgrade.  I think it is disrespectful to the man you are marrying who spent all of his hard earned money on the ring you are wearing.  Nick knew all of this, but it did not mean he needed to get me a giant rock for me to like it.IMG_0995

Every time I look down at my ring I think about Nick and how much he loves me.  NO the ring itself does not mean he loves me but the time and effort he put into finding the perfect one and knowing how picky I am makes me smile – and if you know Nick you know he is not a jewelry guy.  I know I will wear it for the rest of my life and I will always have the feeling of butterflies in my stomach when I look back on the day he proposed in the woods.

IMG_0997
As beautiful and stunning as my engagement ring is, I wanted my wedding band to be simple.  Just a white gold band with no diamonds – no matter how much people tried to tell me I would like them.  To me my wedding band represents us.  No frills no embellishments just simple clean lines.  I love it.  And I know that if for some reason I do not feel comfortable wearing my engagement ring someplace I will always have my wedding band to remind me of constant love.IMG_1000

Nick’s ring is simple as well and he opted out of white gold and diamonds (Nick wearing diamonds would be hysterical) and went with a brushed nickel finished Tungsten.  I am not sure what it means to him, but I know even though he is not a jewelry guy he is still planning on wearing it.  I think it is weird when men do not wear wedding band (ahem Prince William!).

IMG_0998
All in all I love our rings.  They are simple and different, just like us.

This post is just my opinion, if you have different one please do not take offense.

One Comment on “Rings”

  1. Lindsay says:

    Aww I love this! I agree – for me the proposal and David buying/choosing the ring was more important than the actual ring. You successfully pull off the elegance simplicity look 🙂


Leave a Reply

