English Peas

Tuesday are always my favorite in the summer because of the farmers market!  Today I picked up lettuce, arugula, kale, English peas and cherries.

Tonight I attacked the English peas!

IMG_1088

I love peas!  They are so cute and sweet to the taste.  I even had a cat that used to eat them frozen!  This afternoon I shelled a bunch of peas and thought about how to showcase their flavor.

I grabbed some basil and a pepper that I knocked off my accident Sad smileIMG_1090

What I came up with was garlic peas with basil and olive oil.  Simple and easy, not even really a recipe but I wanted to showcase the peas!

IMG_1091

Garlic Peas

  • 1 clove of garlic pressed
  • ~ 1 cup of fresh peas – frozen would work too though
  • small bunch of basil
  • S&P
  • Olive oil

Heat olive oil in a large skillet and add garlic.  Start browning the garlic and add the peas for flavoring.  After a few minutes of saute add enough water to cover the peas 1/2 way and cover.  Cook the peas for about 5min then stir and add S&P.  Recover and cook another 5min.  Remove lid and cook until liquid is gone or peas are cooked to your liking.  Add the basil and stir until just heated then serve!

IMG_1092

Delicious garlic and basil flavors.IMG_1094

Eat your peas (and carrots)!  I swear I was enjoying this bite.

Look who I caught snagging a snack while we were out on the deck!IMG_1089

Bad Sissy!

One Comment on “English Peas”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    And to think…one Halloween I did not get to go trick or treating because I did not eat my peas…Sissy looks cute raiding the garden! love you, moma beans


Leave a Reply

