Farmers Market Tuesday : Okra

WeIl it is Tuesday and that means I got to venture to the farmers market today!!!  I almost missed it again but this time it was because of some violent thunderstorms and not a flat tire.  Like most of the country we are having a serious heat wave and my AC seems to be constantly running, so why did I even think about turning on the oven tonight???  Because I got my first okra of the season at the farmers market!!!!

IMG_1174

My fruit guys also grow veggies and they always have multiple varieties of okra.  Did you know there were different species?  I love how pretty these purple ones are and even some of them were bi-colored.IMG_1175

So what does one do with okra?

Make okra fries of course!!!

IMG_1177

Roasted in the oven for 20min at 375 and coated in olive oil, salt, garlic powder and chili powder.  Note to self – chili powder can burn in the oven and your smoke alarm will go off.IMG_1179

Eat them down to the stem and don’t forget the ketchup!

IMG_1176

What do you do with your okra?

Stay cool out there!

Leave a Reply

