Lemon Cucumber

It’s Tuesday, and you know what that means!  Farmers Market Tuesday!

Today we have lemon cucumber!

IMG_1216

These little guys are called “lemons” because of their size and color not their flavor.  The have a mild flavor and thin skins that are easier to digest than their regular cucumber relatives.IMG_1217

I usually use them in salads the same way I would a regular cucumber but it is just nice to switch it up from the regular green guys.IMG_1218

Another difference is the seed structure.  Here we have 5 wells instead of one solid seed bore.

They still make you burp!

What is your favorite way to eat a cucumber?  Have you tried lemon cucumbers???

6 Comments on “Lemon Cucumber”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    I have never heard of a lemon cucumber looks like a lot of seeds to take out though. my fav cukes are sliced with purple onions with vinegar, pepper and maybe dill or basil. Burp away!

  2. Jenny says:

    I’ve never even heard of a Lemon Cucumber! Hmm…I may have to check them out!

  3. Coco says:

    I look forward to your Farmer’s Market Tuesday posts 🙂

    Never had one of those but perhaps I should try it. What Farmer’s Market did you go to? I live in Baltimore and would love to find a good market!

    • Heather says:

      I go to the one at Kenilworth in Towson on Tuesdays. It is small and I don’t feel pushed around like the JFX market. If you live over by Hopkins there is the Waverly Market that is pretty good just be careful of the people selling oranges…obviously those do not grow in MD!

  4. gadzukks says:

    I have never seen a lemon cucumber before, I will have to seek them out and give them a try.


Leave a Reply

