Cilantro Pesto!

I am a day late with Farmers Market Tuesday (now Wednesday!).  I got home from yoga late last night and all I wanted to do was eat some dinner and go to sleep.

The pickin’s are getting slim at the market and I will miss summer produce, but one surprise I found was a huge bunch of cilantro (root and all)!  I really wanted it but one person cannot eat 3 cups of cilantro before it goes bad.  I opted for making cilantro pesto!

IMG_1354

I wanted it to be semi-thick because I want to use it on bread.  I also do not have pine nuts because they are super expensive.

Simple Cilantro Pesto

  • 2 cups cilantro
  • 1/4 cup pecans
  • EVOO to your thickness taste
  • juice of 1/2 one lemon
  • 1/2 jalapeno
  • pinch salt

Throw everything but the olive oil into a food processor and blend!  Add the olive oil gradually until you get the consistency you like.IMG_1355

I cannot believe from 2 cups of cilantro I only got 1/2 cup of pesto!  I guess that is why the stuff is kind of expensive.

What would you use cilantro pesto on?

p.s. I am never cooking rice on the stove top again…my new rice maker we got as a wedding gift is amazing!

One Comment on “Cilantro Pesto!”

  1. V says:

    I agree Lilybeans, sure there’s no way back from a rice cooker, especially if that is a Fuzzy Logic Zojirushi, which I adore!
    “Cilantro pesto”? No pine nuts? Food processor? I am afraid it doesn’t qualify as pesto.. (basil, pine nuts, garlic, mortar & pestle: that’s right up the pesto’s alley! Jalapeno & lemmon: big no no!).
    But what you created seems quite creative, healthy and versatile!
    I would use it, in small quantities, over steamed or grilled fish (cod, soles,..) – which is also a good combo w/steamed rice.
    You can also fix a nice bulgur salad, to make it an even healthier version of tabouli (instead of parsley).
    You can add cilantro (not the “pesto mix”) to a nice and healthy minestrone.
    I think it would be a very nice addition to a frittata/egg white too!
    As a general rule, I would use it any way I would use parsley.
    Bear in mind that fresh cilantro (like fresh basil and parsley) is perfectly preserved when frozen (and if you use your ice cubes mold, your little cilantro cubes will be conveniently sized for single cooking uses).
    A hug from an Italian Lilybeans blog reader!
    V


Leave a Reply

