Pumpkin Love Muffins

I am a huge lover of all things pumpkin. I eat pumpkin oats almost every day in the fall, and I have never met a pumpkin item I did not want to gobble down. This being said, they are not always the most healthy items…I think sometimes there is more sugar in pumpkin baked goods to balance the gourd flavor.

I wanted to take a recipe from the pumpkin masters themselves, Libby’s, and make it healthier without tasting like poo.

IMG_1363

I based my recipe off this guy: LIBBY’S Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

The nutrition stats according to Calorie Count are:

old

This is pretty typical of most bakery cupcakes muffins. Check out that sugar! (The recipe calls for 3 cups of the sweet stuff)

My version added up like so:new

Now they both get a score of C+ but check out the calorie, fat and sugar drops! Also note the increase in fiber.

IMG_1361

So what was in my recipe???

  • 3 cups of all-purpose flour whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (Also can use cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves mixed)
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons salt
  • 3 cups granulated sugar 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 4 large eggs 2 large eggs, 2 flax eggs (1 tablespoon flax to 3 tablespoons water per egg)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil 1 cup applesauce
  • 1 cup sweetened dried cranberries

I followed the same directions as the Libby’s recipe except I added a little cinnamon + nutmeg sugar to the tops. I figured it we were cutting out a cup of sugar I could make a crunch top.

IMG_1362

What is your favorite pumpkin baked good?

3 Comments on “Pumpkin Love Muffins”

  1. So nice meeting you last night! I agree that some pumpkin recipes contain far too much sugar–I hate when people automatically think that something is healthy because it is pumpkin flavored!

    I LOVE pumpkin dip…I need to make some this weekend!

  2. Jenny says:

    I like every pumpkin baked good!! Muffins, bread, cookies…Ill take them all!

  3. Jess says:

    Love the idea of replacing items for healthier options! I usually follow recipes by the letter, but by tweaking things a bit you made a big difference. Good job!


Leave a Reply

